1948 Establishment of The State of ISRAEL

1918-1948 BRITISH Rule: The British Mandate of Palestine and the Mandate for Palestine, was a legal commission for the administration of Palestine,  by the Council of the League of Nations on 24 July 1922 and which came into effect on 26 September 1923. The document was based on the principles contained in Article 22 of the draft Covenant of the League of Nations and the San Remo Resolution of 25 April 1920 by the principal Allied and associated powers after the First World War. The mandate formalized British rule in the southern part of Ottoman Syria from 1923 to 1948. With the League of Nations’ consent on 16 September 1922, the UK divided the Mandate territory into two administrative areas, Palestine, under direct British rule, and autonomous Transjordan, under the rule of the Hashemite family from the Kingdom of Hejaz in present-day Saudi Arabia. Following the 1922 Transjordan memorandum, the area east of the Jordan river became exempt from the Mandate provisions concerning the Jewish National Home.

1517-1917 OTTOMAN RULE: The rule of the Ottoman Empire in
the Holy Land, which began in the early 16th century following their defeat of
the Mamluks, lasted until 1922 (the end of World World I) after which Great
Britain gained control of Palestine.

1291-1516 MAMLUK Rule

1099-1291 CRUSADER Rule

691 Dome of Rock is built on sites of 1st and 2nd Temples
in Jerusalem

638-1099 ARAB TRIBAL Rule

390 Commentary on Mishnah (Jewish Oral Law) completed

313-636 BYZANTINE Rule

132-135 Bar Kokhba uprising against Rome


Bar Kokhba’s coin. Obverse: Grapes, the text reads: “year 1 to the redemption of Israel”. Reverse: a palm tree with two branches of dates; “Eleazar the Priest” (in Hebrew) around

70 Destruction of Jerusalem and 2nd Temple

The victory was commemorated in Rome with the Arch of Titus, which depicts the valuables seized from the Temple, including the Temple menorah

73 Last stand of Jews at Masada against Romans

20-33 Ministry of Jesus

63 BCE – 313 CE ROMAN Rule

129-63 BCE – Jewish Independence

142-129 BCE – Jewish Autonomy of HASHMONEAN

166-160 BCE – Maccabean revolt against Greek restrictions on Judaism and desecration of Temple (Chanukah)

332 BCE – Land conquered by Greece / Alexander the Great

515 BCE – Many Jews return from Babylonia; Temple rebuilt


586 BCE – Judah conquered by Babylonia; Jerusalem and 1st Temple destroyed. Most Jews exiled

722 BCE – Israel crushed by Assyrians; 10 tribes exiles (lost tribes)

930 BCE – Kingdom divided into JUDAH and ISRAEL


The exact location of the Temple is unknown. It is believed to have been situated upon the hill that forms the site of the 1st century Second Temple and present-day Temple Mount, where the Dome of the Rock is situated.[14]

960 BCE -1st Temple built in Jerusalem by King Salomon

1000 BCE -Jerusalem is made capital of David’s Kingdom

1020 BCE – Jewish Monarchy established: Saul is the first king

13th Century BCE – Israelites return to the land of Israel

13th Century BCE – Torah received at Mount Sinai (Shavuot) & Exodus from Egypt to Israel (Passover)

17th Century BCE – Famine force Israelites to migrate to Egypt

17th Century BCE – ABRAHAM, ISAAC, JACOB settle in the Land of ISRAEL